MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE Town Hall 6 July 2017 (10.00 am - 12.15 pm)

Present:

COUNCILLORS

Conservative Group	Roger Ramsey (Chairman), Damian White and Wendy Brice-Thompson
Residents' Group	Ray Morgon
East Havering Residents' Group	+Ron Ower
UKIP Group	+Patricia Rumble

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors Clarence Barrett and Lawrence Webb.

+Substitute Member: Councillors Ron Ower (for Clarence Barrett) and Patricia Rumble (Lawrence Webb).

All decisions were taken with no votes against.

The Chairman reminded Members of the action to be taken in an emergency.

In the absence of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, it was agreed that Councillor Ramsey should chair the meeting.

1 MINUTES

The minutes of the meetings of the Sub-Committee held on 23 November 2016, 28 November 2016 and 9 December 2016 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

2 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

It was RESOLVED that the public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it was likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public were present during those items there would be a disclosure to them of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

3 APPOINTMENT TO THE POST OF ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT

The Sub-Committee, having seen the presentations of each of the candidates invited for interview and satisfied themselves by questioning them in turn, then deliberated on their individual merits.

After careful consideration of the relative strengths and experience of the candidates as indicated by their application, their performance at stakeholder panels, their presentation and by interview, the Committee agreed unanimously to appoint Chris Hilton to the post of Assistant Director of Development subject to the notification provisions of paragraph 14 of the Staff Employment Procedure Rules set out in part 4 of Havering's Constitution.

Chairman